Seeking Personal Care Assistant (pca) for College Student

Posting ID : A1068540795
Date Posted : 2015-08-19
Category : Healthcare

Open Shifts:
Currently I have hours available on Monday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday at various times throughout the day.
More hours may become available in the near future.

I'm a 22 year old female college student who lives on campus at Ramapo College in Mahwah, NJ. I have a neuromuscular disability which causes me to need assistance with most activities of daily living. I use a power wheelchair for mobility, as well as a few other assistive devices. I have a wheelchair accessible minivan that my PCAs drive when I want or need to go somewhere.

I study political science at Ramapo and live in a dorm with a private bedroom and bathroom. I have two suitemates that I share a living room with. I like spending time with friends, wasting hours on my laptop, shopping, reading, listening to music, and watching TV and movies. I am looking for a PCA who is punctual, easygoing, and responsible. I need someone who is content with busy days filled with classes and errands, as well as lazy days with a lot of downtime.

In order to be considered for this position, please fill out the following application. Respondents who do not fill out the application will be immediately disqualified.

Personal care (includes but is not limited to):
- Dressing
- Range of motion activities (stretching)
- Toileting
- Transferring (ability to lift 55+ lbs is a must)
- Occasional meal preparation
- Showering

Household care (includes but is not limited to):
- Mopping
- Vacuuming
- Making bed
- Laundry

- Fluent in English
- Valid driver's license
- Willing to drive me in my van
- Social Security number
- Extremely punctual and reliable
- Able to follow and understand directions
- Valid phone number and email address
- Detail-oriented
- Past PCA experience is NOT necessary

Some Other Postings