1 Br. Available in Bright & Comfy 2 Br. Sept 1st

Posting ID : A1068449792
Date Posted : 2015-08-18
Category : Rooms Shares

About the space:

One bedroom available in a bright and comfortable 2-bedroom/1-bath. The house is in a quiet and safe residential neighborhood on the east side, just past Tenney Park. We're a 4-minute walk from Lake Mendota and a 2-minute walk to the bus. It's a quick bike ride to Willy Street and the Atwood neighborhood. The apartment is the first floor of a house, the upstairs neighbors are friendly and considerate, and we have a huge (like, seriously very huge!) beautiful backyard with a garden and a fire pit. Driveway parking is available/included and there's an in-unit (free) washer and dryer. Rent is 497.50$/month each and we pay for wifi, gas, and electric.

The housemate I had lined up just changed plans, so I know this is relatively late notice. If you're hoping for a slightly later move-in date I would definitely be open to that & pro-rating the first month's rent!

The apartment has a cozy living room with sunflower yellow walls and a spacious & bright dining room, both with hardwood floors. There's a full kitchen with a lot of cupboard space and decent counter space. We also have a basement, so we're never short on storage space! One of my fave things about the apartment is the sun porch--it's right next to a magnolia tree, so it's really lovely in the springtime.

The available bedroom is carpeted, overlooks the backyard, and has a large closet. It has east-facing windows, so it doesn't get quite as much light as the rest of the apartment throughout the day, but I think the brightness everywhere else makes up for it! It's big enough for a queen sized bed/dresser/bookshelf/side table, etc.

About me:

This will be my 3rd year in Madison & I'm just finishing my MA in Gender & Women's Studies. I'm 24, I'm very into nesting and I'm looking forward to being able to read for fun again once I'm done with this degree! I'm currently a teaching assistant at UW and a face painter at summer festivals, and I'm not quite sure what I'm doing next. (Applying for PhD programs this winter. . ..aaah!)

I'm fat positive & body positive, LGBTQ+ friendly, and ideally you are too. I bake a lot of banana bread. I'm a bit obsessed with pop music.

As an introvert with a well-camouflaged anxiety disorder, I appreciate having a home space that's calm and comfortable and relatively private. I generally prefer to not have people coming and going from the apartment, but I do love to throw low-key parties (bonfires, brunches, potlucks, etc.) so ideally you'd be up for that, too! I'll always make sure it's okay with you before having people over, and I would appreciate the same.

General roommate stuff:

I clean the house when I notice it needs it, so it's usually not messy (and never gross) but isn't completely pristine either. I'm super into splitting up necessary house-chores in a way that works well for everyone, and leads to the most comfort and happiness possible all around! I do try to be pretty quick about washing my dishes/cleaning up stuff in the kitchen, and being able to stay on top of your dishes/kitchen cleanup is really important.

My vibes are kind of witchy and cozy, and the house tends to reflect that. I try to keep my clutter out of shared space, and appreciate the same from roommates. I would prefer to live with someone also in their 20s. I identify as female/a girl, and would be open to a roommate of any gender but would prefer someone who IDs as either female or non-binary/genderqueer/etc.. I try to be really intentional about having open communication and I try to be really aware of ways I can make other people comfortable, and I appreciate that in return. There's no smoking in the house, and no pets, please!

If you're interested or if you have questions, please email me.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Some Other Postings